Johnson Propane


Tuesday, January 31, 2023

IHSBCA Hall of Fame

The Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association held their annual awards banquet on January 21st and a number of area coaches, athletes, and officials were honored.

Audubon’s Larry Frakes (Player) and Steve Shantz (Umpire) were Inducted into to the IHSBCA Hall of Fame. They were joined in the 2023 class by Jeff Douglas (Coach) – Truro, Keith McSweeney (Coach) – Solon, Jake Souhrada (Coach) – Wilton, Joel Hanrahan (Player) – Norwalk, George Engebretson (Contributor)-Rembrandt.

CAM’s Dan Daugherty was among the coaches that earned district coach of the year honors. Daugherty was named the 1A Southwest District Coach of the Year and also joined the 300 win club in his final season at the helm. Underwood’s Andy Vanfossan won the 2A Southwest District award, Jim Waters of Lewis Central won for the 3A Southwest District, and CB Abraham Lincoln’s Tyler Brietzke was the West District winner in 4A.

Coon Rapids-Bayard’s Jon Heydon was named the Southwest District Assistant Coach of the Year.

Jim Molitor of Carroll was named the Northwest District Umpire of the Year and Creston’s Scott Busch won the honor for the Southwest District.


Full Sports News Listings
Johnson Propane