Monogram Quality Foods, hiring, now hiring


Wednesday, March 8, 2023

Kimballton native Jensen joins Assistant Coaches Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Photo: University of Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Associate Head Coach Jan Jensen was named to A STEP UP, Inc. Assistant Coaches Hall of Fame Class of 2023, presented by Worth Advisors. A STEP UP, Inc. was founded by Johnny and Felicia Allen.

In 2019, A STEP UP, Inc. became the first to exclusively recognize NCAA men and women ‘assistant’ basketball college coaches with the distinction of the Hall of Fame honor at the inaugural induction ceremony hosted in Atlanta, Georgia.  A STEP UP inducted a second Hall of Fame Class in 2020 during a virtual ceremony due to the pandemic. 

Jensen is in her 23rd season with the Iowa women’s basketball team and her 19th as associate head coach. Jensen has helped guide Iowa to 21 postseason appearances, including 17 NCAA Tournament berths. With Jensen on staff, the Hawkeyes have claimed four Big Ten Tournament and two Big Ten regular season titles.  Most recently, Jensen and the Hawkeyes won the Big Ten Tournament title last Sunday, 105-72, over 4-Seed Ohio State which was the largest margin of victory in BTT Championship history.

A nationally-known presence on the recruiting trail, she serves as the recruiting coordinator and also works with the post players. Under her tutelage, nine Hawkeyes have claimed a total of 21 All-Big Ten honors, including eight first team selections. Jensen also guided Megan Gustafson to the first consensus National Player of the Year honor in Big Ten history. Jensen was also integral in recruiting current Hawkeye star, Caitlin Clark. In Clark’s first two seasons, she holds numerous National Point Guard of the Year awards, All American honors, as well as being named the 2022 and 2023 B1G Ten Player of the Year.

Off the court, Jensen is active in her community. Jensen has co-chaired record-setting United Way Fundraising campaigns, served on the boards of the United Way, Shelterhouse and Iowa City Community School Foundation. Her recognitions include the 2007 United Way Volunteer of the Year, a Corridor Business Journal Woman of Influence in 2014, and was one of five honorees to receive the 2020 LGBTQ Legacy Leadership award by Des Moines Magazine and One Iowa.


Full Sports News Listings
Johnson Propane