Friday, September 4, 2020

Secretarial Disaster Declaration Request approved

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, Sonny Perdue, has approved Gov. Reynold request for a Secretarial disaster declaration for 18 counties in Iowa that were impacted by August 10th Derecho. The nearest one to KDSN is Guthrie County. The declaration makes farm operators in the designated counties eligible to receive emergency assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).


Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, Mike Naig, said “We are thankful for the USDA’s partnership and Secretary Perdue’s disaster designation which gives our producers access to federal loan and recovery resources.”


In accordance with the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, nearby counties such as Audubon, Carroll, Greene, and Cass counties are also eligible for low-interest emergency loans. Farmers in these counties have eight months to apply for assistance. Applications can be submitted at or by contacting a local USDA Service Center

Full News Listings
Crawford County Memorial Hospital
Johnson Propane
Crawford County Memorial Hospital