Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Denison School Board discusses potential timeline for Broadway Elementary project

The Denison Community School District Board of Education held their regular meeting on Monday night.

Superintendent Mike Pardun led off the evening by pointing out that May is School Board Recognition Month and thanking members for their leadership of the District. Pardun later updated the board about a recent meeting with a DLR Group Architect to begin to define the scope of a possible Broadway Elementary project. The board's discussion led to identifying the Fall of 2024 as a possible target date for completion. They would expect to prioritize use of sales tax revenue bonds for such a project. Members cited concerns about the current market rates on raw materials and expressed a desire for the market to settle prior to moving forward. They tasked Pardun and business manager Scott Larson with providing a list of smaller projects that could be addressed utilizing cash on hand as well.

The board accepted a list of 162 graduates for the Class of 2021 pending they meet District graduation requirements. Principle Dave Wiebers reported that the upcoming Senior Awards Day and Graduation Ceremony will be held in the high school gym as in previous years.

The board backed the following personnel appointments: Cassie Riemer as Middle School Math Teacher, Kamari Cotton-Moya as Head High School Football Coach, Willie Baughman for High School Math, Nick Bradley as Middle School Dean of Students, and Ryan Meyer for Middle School and High School Instrumental Music as well as Cindy Ahart and Karen Smith as cooks. They also accepted seven resignations.

The board authorized school fees and rates for 2021-22 with anticipated rate increases for adult meals and substitute positions. They also confirmed administrative contracts for next school year and endorsed the first reading of Denison Community School District School Board Policies.

You can find full school board meeting agendas and minutes here.

Full News Listings
Crawford County Memorial Hospital
Johnson Propane
Crawford County Memorial Hospital